Is Virgil van Dijk that the Prem’s top player? (two: 45)

ESPN FC’s Craig Burley shares his thoughts where Virgil van Dijk ranks one of the Premier League’s best players this campaign. (2: 45)

Manchester City and Liverpool dominate the Professional Footballers’ Association Player of the Year award with Raheem Sterling and Virgil van Dijk among those .

Sergio Aguero, Sadio Mane, Bernardo Silva and Eden Hazard join Sterling and Van Dijk about the six-man listing, together with last year’s winner Mohamed Salah failing to make the cutoff. There is also no place to get Kevin De Bruyne, who lost out to Salah last term.

– Kuper: How Van Dijk became Liverpool’s chief

Van Dijk, a Number 75 million signing from Southampton in January 2018, would be the favorite to take the trophy following a nice period at Liverpool, together with the club fighting City for the Premier League title and also in the Champions League semifinals. Van Dijk and Liverpool have the best defensive record in the Premier League this year, with only 20 aims surrendered in 34 matches.

Mane, with 10 targets in his past 11 fits in all competitions for club and country, combines his Liverpool teammate and also 18 targets, is just one behind Aguero in the leading scorers’ chart.

Sterling has scored 23 goals and provided 16 aids so far, with City trying to put their Champions League disappointment behind them win the Premier League to the second season in succession.

Chelsea’s Hazard is your sole non-Manchester City or Liverpool participant in contention and sources have told ESPN that the Blues fear there is nothing that they can do in order to prevent him joining Real Madrid in the summer.

Silva and Sterling also contain about the Young Player of the Year Song and Liverpool’s Trent Alexander-Arnold, Manchester United’s Marcus Rashford, West Ham’s Declan Rice and Bournemouth’s David Brooks.

Chelsea’s Fran Kirby doesn’t make the review for the women’s award but Manchester City trio Steph Houghton, Nikita Parris and Keira Walsh are one of the nominees alongside Chelsea’s Erin Cuthbert and Ji So-yun, and Arsenal’s Vivianne Miedema.

The champions, voted by the PFA members, will soon be announced at the annual awards ceremony in April 28.


    Related Articles